Chefelf.com Night Life: Shiftless artist seeks shiftless writer - Chefelf.com Night Life

• (2 Pages)
  • +

Shiftless artist seeks shiftless writer

#1 User is offline   Rhubarb Icon

• Soothsayer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Interests:Regurgitator, the Froud family, T.H. White, and Dylan Moran.

Posted 30 May 2005 - 07:45 AM

For ages now I've been wanting to do a webcomic. Unfortunately for me, while I've got the drawing side covered, I'm not too good with the writing aspects. I'm quite good with characters and story and dialogue and all the whatnot for a decent serious project, but I'm decidedly lacking in quick set-ups and punchlines which can be crammed into a few panels and will suit a cartoony style, and frankly that's what I want to do. Besides, I really want to do a project with someone else. I'm awful at motivating myself, and the prospect of another person threatening to kick my arse if I don't get stuff done on a semi-regular basis is probably what I need. And a teamup with Yahtzee isn't feasible for a variety of reasons.

So. Anyone out there who's all set to do a webcomic but gets frustrated at their lack of drawing abilities? I'm your gal.

Frankly, I'm not expecting this to lead anywhere, except for a vague fear I have that someone will show me some script of theirs which is total ass, and I'll have a choice of telling them it is ass or of illustrating said ass (although try not to let that put you off). This is more of a last-ditch effort. All my writer friends who can actually write have fobbed me off with, "Oh, sorry, I'd love too but I'm too busy," and "Oh, sorry, I'm currently really uninspired". Fuckers.

If anyone wants, I can link to a brief portfolio.

My apologies to Hofmarn, whose book I still haven't finished reading (although believe it or not, I have done a few quick mock-ups of Glamis and Randylyl). I'm tempted to edit the fucking thing myself purely for my own benefit...