Chefelf.com Night Life: Domainage... - Chefelf.com Night Life

Page 1 of 1

Domainage... I know a-nothing

#1 User is offline   Chyld Icon

• Ancient Monstrosity
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Crappy News Team

Posted 27 December 2004 - 11:33 AM

OK, so while Less Is More has been quite a nifty venture, I'm thinking of splashing out and getting a doman name, maybe going the whole hog and setting myself up with a proper website, with webspace and all. I believe that my HTML skillz are sufficiently good (and if not, I can fall back on a HTML editor).

But first, considering that I'm a student, my budget is "Zero", possibly "Some Pennies I Saved In A Jar". Has anyone got any recommendations as to where I can get a sufficient wodge of free webspace for my strenuous update schedule, a webcomic or two, and maybe a forum under my own wings?

And I know there's not a masticated monkey's hope in hell of me getting a free domain name, so can anyone point me at the cheapest and most reliable domain name?

Finally, not that I intend to use them, but can anyone explain how the hell Frames work? I've been trying for years and totally failed...
When you lose your calm, you feed your anger.

Less Is More v4
Now resigned to a readership of me, my cat and some fish

#2 User is offline   Chefelf Icon

• LittleHorse Fan
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 27 December 2004 - 02:07 PM

Use Godaddy.com. I've been using them for a couple of years after using four or five other companies. Godaddy BLOWS THEM AWAY. Their site management and service is second to none. It will cost you roughly $7 to $9 a year, USD.

IMPORTANT: IF YOU CAN FIND A REGISTRAR ELSEWHERE THAT WILL SELL YOU A DOMAIN NAME FOR CHEAPER DON'T DO IT!